Oreo Cupcakes

This is one of the cupcakes I make regularly for family and friends. I call my cupcake moments as my cupcake adventures. Why? Because I am always fascinated by the level of sophistication undergone to create such beautiful and good tasting pieces of cakes.

I take my sweet time to taste the cuppy cakes I consume. Ever I fall in love with any parts of it (Mind it does not take much for me to fall in love with something foody), I will then engage the dissect experiment, and try tasting each parts of the cakes to understand their individuality and then wonder a lot at how these tastes or textures seem to work well with each other and conclude with hands on experiments.

It may seem easier to just ask for the recipe sometimes…

As you can tell by my blog name, I’m more of a cream person. Fondants are gorgeous but I prefer a nice tasting cream any day. The taste-o-meter almost always take rank above creativity.

Oreo cupcake was top on my ‘must learn’ list for a while hence I started dissecting all Oreo tagged cakes and cupcakes that I came across and consumed.

This particular recipe is an improvised version using Betty Crocker’s Devil’s Food Cake mix (I am yet to perfect my chocolate cake mix sadly!).

I must have made (and ate) buckets of creams in name of experimentation. Then one fine morning, I decided to listen to what the Americans suggest; use salted butter!
I have used a mix of both salted and unsalted butter to make the Oreo buttercream. I tested with some of my closest friends and I got the greenest signal from them.
These pictures are from last year when I baked these for my neighbours during Deepavali celebration…

Dragged my baby girl to do the distribution work :-)
Dragged my baby girl to do the distribution work 🙂
Leave a Reply

