Making Curry Paste

My mother often reflected on her retro experience making curry pastes the traditional way. That meant grinding all spices and fresh ingredients (no curry powders used) in making curry paste.
That inspired me once to make my own. I have to agree it was fun and great learning however it was way too much work especially because a stone mortar aka. batu giling (in Malay Language) was utilised to grind the ingredients!

Forget the mortar and pestle you easily find in Britain, batu giling is one of the real deal.

All very Neolitic!

batu giling2
Batu giling

However its definitely worth the efforts, the chicken curry I made tasted the best ever! A taste I could never replicate using modern technologies.

Nowadays, I’m a proud semi. Whereby I blitz fresh ingredients with curry powders to make similar (with a huge taste gap 🙂 ) but nice curry pastes.

creamcili
Fennel, Cumin, Cardomams

creamcili creamcili

creamcili
Fry in oil before adding the paste..

The curry paste shown here is basic and multipurpose. Typically they are made fresh (JIT), however I sometimes make a batch to be used for a few curries throughout the week.

I would store these for up to 3 days in a 5c fridge and use them for various meat and vegetable curries, modifying as I go along. 🙂

creamcili

Leave a Reply

