Oreo Truffle in Hazelnut Pastry Crust

hazelnut pastry First of what is expected to be a very experimental journey…

The journey of tarts and quiches…

Sweet tarts are not traditional to an Asian household (as far as I can comprehend). I believe it’s very much a Western food (I reckon anything requiring ‘baking’ are very much Western) and anything said to be of Western influence could be highly subjective!! 🙂

This pastry is an improvised French recipe (And I can’t believe I lost the lovely webpage I found it from!! So very me!).

I used the Oreo truffle filling from this wonderful wonderful blog: Sugar and Sam

Caution: It does take couple of servings of this experimental tart for the mind to accept the exciting combinations of flavours; Hazelnut, Oreos and Cream cheese…

This makes up the 16cm tart ring.
Hazelnut pastry crust:
125g Plain flour
75g Ground hazelnuts
50g Caster sugar
90g Unsalted butter (softened)
55g egg (Approx. 1 medium egg) (Beaten by fork gently)
1/8 tsp. Hazelnut essence (Optional)
Cold water (only if necessary)

Method:
1. Mix all dry ingredients, rub in the butter.
2. Add the egg and hazelnut essence, knead briefly and ball it up.
3. Place it on cling film and refrigerate for 45 minutes. (I kept them overnight)
4. Flatten it 3-5mm and place it over the tart ring. Lightly prick the tart base using the fork.
5. Place parchment paper over the top with some baking beads, bake at 200c for 10mins, remove beads and bake at 160c for further 15mins.

Let me know what you think…:-)

5 thoughts on “Oreo Truffle in Hazelnut Pastry Crust”

  1. I LOVE this! Looks soooo good!

    I never would have thought to use the truffles this way, and combined with hazelnut? Amazing idea.

    Thanks so much for the collaboration and for sharing your wonderful recipe with the world.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! Would love to hear your views on the scones 🙂
      I planning to write up my tested new caramel strawberry sauce recipe – tastes so good with the scones as opposed to a typical conserve X

      Like

Leave a Reply

