Lemon and Blueberry Friands

Another gem of French baking!

Friands translate as ‘dainty cakes’.

I love the simplicity in its recipe yet they taste utterly delicious especially when served with a good cup of tea or coffee. More reasons to why we all should hearten elevensies every day! 🙂

I have yet to get myself a friand tin/mould (don’t think there is one actually if you ask in France!). I make these all the time and typically use my mini muffin silicon mould which measures approx.. 4.5cm X 2cm.

Without doubt, blueberries and lemon are one of the best combinations in flavours, and they work well in friands too.

creamcili

A simple recipe adapted from BBC Good Food.

50g Salted butter
50g Unsalted butter
(all butters melted and cooled) (++extra for brushing the mould/tin)
125g icing sugar (++ extra for dusting)
25g plain flour
70g ground almonds
165g egg whites (Approx. 3 medium eggs)
1 lemon, grated rind
70g blueberries
Oven: 200c

Method

  1. In a mixing bowl, add dry ingredients; icing sugar, ground almonds, plain flour.
    Mix well.
  2. In another mixing bowl, whisk egg whites till frothy.
  3. Make a well in middle of the dry ingredients and add in the egg whites, whisk gently. Add in the lemon rind and continue whisking.
  4. Lightly stir in the melted butter. Mix with spatula around the edges to combine.
  5. Brush melted butter (generously) around the mould/tin.
  6. Wash, dry and coat blueberries with spoonful of plain flour.
  7. Spoon the batter into the mould and push in gently 1-3 blueberries into each. Mine takes up to 2 blueberries.
  8. Bake for 15-20 mins, you are looking for a nicely browned top (which gives a fluffly moist centre and almost crispy top).
    Cool in the mould/tin for approx. 3-5 mins before removing. Once cooled, dust generously with icing sugar.

Best eaten within 4 hours of baking.
Happy baking guys!
creamcili

 

 

9 thoughts on “Lemon and Blueberry Friands”

  1. I have not heard of ‘Friands’ but will ask some of my French friends – these do remind me of little cakes made with raspberries and pistachios that they make in the local bakery, but I think that these are called ‘fiancier’. I am not a cake person, but I think that I will make an exception for these as I love both lemon and blueberry. I am LOVING the cookery book by the way, so many of my recipes are similar or almost identical to hers, but I only heard of her grace of you – thank you, thank you thank you x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much Lindy.
    I’m still very much learning about French desserts and pastries (and very much in love with them).

    I once read from http://bakinginfranglais.blogspot.co.uk that they are both the same, with traditional friand tin produces oval shaped cakes and a financier tin produces oblong cakes.

    I’ve experimented making financiers too. The differences I gathered:
    – Financiers are much denser in texture with flour:icing sugar ratio to be 1:3 compared to friands which is approx. 1:5
    – Financier recipe sometimes uses beurre noisette (browned butter).

    Hope you like the recipe and let me know how you get on 🙂
    Have a lovely weekend.

    Like

  3. Ah Hello – I thought that my comment went to Martha (she must have reblogged your post) the comment about the cookery book would not make sense to you. I am actually off to spend te weekend who is in fact a cook (French obviously) so I will ask her if she has any recipes or information that I could pass on to you. My blog is ‘Franglais’ cooking – that I have had to create adapt myself, being an Englishwoman living in Paris for the last 6 years, catering for both English and French family and friends and trying to keep everybody happy at the table (also having to learn what to do with new ingredients and how to do without others!) I mainly cook savoury dishes though (although there are quite a few tarts featured) so it may not interest you. But there is a tart up that I posted yesterday ironically if you want to check it out. ‘A Taste of Two Cites’ is the name of the blog (it is on wordpress) x
    Nice to meet you

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thanks Linda, appreciate all recipes/information from your chef friend, really kind of you 🙂 ~ the frangipan tarts on your blog (the pear and choc) looks delish! X

      Like

Leave a Reply

